Literary Competition winners announced

The Sunshine Coast Literary Association has revealed the winners of this year’s SCLA Writers’ Competition at its annual Awards Presentation Dinner on Thursday, 21 June.

President of the SCLA, Bryan Ward said it was a fantastic night and a great opportunity to celebrate the depth of talent of writers throughout our region.

“The judges were amazed at the calibre of entries in this year’s competition and look forward to returning to the panel next year,” Bryan said.

The dinner, held at the Fourth Floor Restaurant, included a three-course meal for guests followed by a short awards ceremony, which saw 16 entrants receive awards.

For the first time this year, the competition was open to aspiring writers in the Moreton Bay and South Burnett Council areas as well as the Sunshine Coast and Gympie.

The Sunshine Coast Literary Association (SCLA) is a not-for-profit association dedicated to nurturing, showcasing and celebrating literary talent throughout the Sunshine Coast region, with the annual Writers’ Competition Awards being a key part of that charter.

Winners of the Open Short Story category were: John Bradley (first place), Meg McNaught (second place) and Maggie Pinder (highly commended).

Winners of the Open Poem category: Jack Burnham (first place) and Leanne Chawner (second place and highly commended).

Winners of the Young Adult Short Story category were: Shaina Allen-Ankins (first place), Ashleigh Foster (second place) and Josie Cluney (highly commended).

Winners of the Young Adult Poem category were: Mia Jones (first place), Emily Lovett (second place) and Josie Cluney (highly commended).

Winners of the Junior Short Story category were: Lauren Manns (first place), Ella Reynolds (second place) and Anna Neuwirth (highly commended).

Winners of the Junior Poem category: Naomi Kassulke (first place) and Anna Neuwirth (second place).

The event was proudly sponsored by the University of the Sunshine Coast and winners of each category took home $200, $50 for second place and certificates for highly commended.

“On behalf of the SCLA I would like to congratulate all the talented winners of the 2012 Writers’ Competition and thank all those who entered,” Bryan said.

“We encourage writers to continue developing their talents and hope to see their entries in next year’s competition,” Bryan said.

See what Reflected Image can do for you. Contact Us Today