Literary Competition winners announced

The Sunshine Coast Literary Association has revealed the winners of this year’s SCLA Writers’ Competition at its annual Awards Presentation Dinner on Wednesday, 19 June.

President of the SCLA, Kerri Jackson, said it was a fantastic night and a great opportunity to celebrate the depth of talent of writers throughout our region.

“The judges were truly impressed at the calibre of entries in this year’s competition and look forward to returning to the panel next year,” Kerri said.

The dinner, held at the Fourth Floor Restaurant, including a three-course meal for guests followed by a short awards presentation ceremony, which saw 12 entrants receive awards.

The competition was open to aspiring writers in the Moreton Bay and South Burnett Council areas as well as the Sunshine Coast and Gympie.

The Sunshine Coast Literary Association (SCLA) is a not-for-profit association dedicated to nurturing, showcasing and celebrating literary talent throughout the Sunshine Coast region, with the annual Writers’ Competition Awards being a key part of that charter.

Winners of the Open Short Story category were: Julie Chilver (first place), Jennifer Thompson (second place) and Robin Archbold (highly commended).

Winners of the Open Poem category were: John Kerslake (first place), John Strano (second place) and Jack Burnham (highly commended).

Winners of the Young Adult Short Story category were: Krystal Blair (first place), Delaware North-Cavanaugh (second place) and Zoe Davidson (highly commended).

Winners of the Junior Shorty Story category were: Emily Fletcher (first place), Olivia Parfitt (second place) and Fiona Brown (highly commended).

The event was proudly supported by Annie’s Books on Peregian, with a generous donation of books for lucky door prizes on the night. SCLA member Sheila Corcoran again supported the awards by funding the highly commended prizes across all four categories, in memory of her late husband Barry, a former treasurer of the SCLA.

“On behalf of the SCLA I would like to congratulate all the talented winners of the 2013 Writers’ Competition and thank all those who entered,” Kerri said.

“We encourage writers to continue developing their talents and hope to see their entries in next year’s competition,” Kerri said.

See what Reflected Image can do for you. Contact Us Today