Sunshine Coast Literary Association WARM Writers Competition Winners announced

WARM Coast logoYear 12 student Madalyn Bayliss won a hat trick for her entries in the Young Adult category of the annual WARM Writers Competition.

The 17-year-old student from Caloundra City School took out first prize as well as the Readers Choice award for her short story “Listen”, plus a Highly Commended for another short story “Choose Your Fate”.

Madalyn received her awards at the Sunshine Coast Literary Association’s presentation dinner on 17 June,  at Cartwrights Restaurant, Mountain Creek.

Montville poet John McMaster was the other hat trick winner for his entries in the Open Poem category.

The competition was open to aspiring writers in the Sunshine Coast and Gympie areas, with four entry categories including Junior (Primary, Grades 5-8), Young Adult (High School, Grades 9-12), Open Poem and Open Short Story.

In addition to the official judging in each category, a panel of independent members reviewed the entries and selected a Readers Choice winner.

The Sunshine Coast Literary Association (SCLA) is a not-for-profit association dedicated to nurturing, showcasing and celebrating literary talent throughout the Sunshine Coast region, with the annual Writers Competition awards being a key part of that charter.

SCLA President Hari Kotrotsios said the judges were amazed at the talent of the writers who entered this year’s competition.

“There were such exceptional entries this year. I am proud to be a part of a competition that showcases the depth of talent of writers throughout our region,” she said.

Winners of the Open Short Story category were:  Bryan Ward (first place) and Peter Nolan (second place) . Highly commended awards were given to BP Marshal, Brian Gram, Peta Miller and Peter Smith. The Reader’s Choice award winner was Morgana McLeod.

Winners of the Open Poem category were: John McMaster (first place) and Bryan Ward (second place). Highly commended awards were given to Suzanne Strong, Bryan Ward and John McMaster, who also received the Reader’s choice award.

Winners of the Young Adult short story category were: Madalyn Bayliss (first place) and Jack Burnham (second place). Highly commended awards were given to Tahlia Baumann, Madalyn Bayliss and Miranda Rew-Duffy. The Reader’s choice award was received by Madalyn Bayliss.

Winners of the Junior Short Story category were: Chiara Guidotti (first place) and Isabelle Blackstone (second place). A highly commended award was given to Lucy Connolly and the Readers Choice award was given to Julian Gordillo.

The Sunshine Coast Literary Association congratulates all the talented winners of 2010 WARM Writers Competition and thanks all applicants who entered this year’s competition.

Hari said  the SCLA encouraged writers to continue developing their talents and hoped to see their entries  in next year’s WARM Writer’s Competition.

The cost of entering is $5 per entry with a maximum of three entries per candidate.  Entries close on Friday, 30th of April 2010. Entry details and forms are available online at the SCLA website – , or by emailing info@scliterary.or

See what Reflected Image can do for you. Contact Us Today